STATE OF ALABAMA
BOARD OF HEATING, AIR CONDITIONING
AND REFRIGERATION CONTRACTORS

8 Commerce Street, Suite 200
PO Box 305025
Montgomery, Alabama 36130-5025
(334) 241-0840

Dr. Robert Bentley Fax: (334) 265-0570 Kathy S. LeCroix
GOVERNOR www.hacr.alabama.gov EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

Refrigeration Applicant
Requirements and Instructions

On August 1, 2009 Act 2009-486 was made effective requiring all commercial refrigeration
companies in the state of Alabama to employ a licensed refrigeration contractor by the State of
Alabama Board of Heating, Air Conditioning & Refrigeration Contractors, as a responsible in
charge for their company.

Prior to applying for refrigeration please be advised that you must have passed the state of
Alabama Refrigeration licensing exam

PLEASE BE ADVISED THAT HOLDING AND HVAC CERTIFICATION DOES NOT
ALLOW YOU TO PERFORM THE DUTIES OF A COMMERCIAL REFRIGERATION
CONTRACTOR. THERE IS A SEPARATE TEST FOR EACH LICENSE.

1) For contractors who are applying to be responsible in charge for a corporation, LLC, sole
proprietorship or as an individual: please complete the Active Refrigeration Contractor
application, obtain a performance bond in the amount of $15,000, along with a payment of
$165.00. Businesses who are incorporated in a state other than Alabama must first register as a
foreign corporation with the Alabama Secretary of State’s office prior to filing an application
with this office.

2) For contractors who are applying to become an inactive refrigeration contractor please
complete the Inactive Refrigeration Contractor application, along with payment of $82.50. An
inactive contractor may not perform any refrigeration work in the state of Alabama.

3) For businesses applying to change their business name, please contact the Board for specific
instructions on which forms to file and what information will be needed to accomplish your
request.

4) For businesses wishing to change the responsible in charge for their company please fill out
and return the Change in Responsible in Charge form as well as return their certification card
along with payment of $25.00



